Mini Xmas wreaths in crochet

Hi there! This little craft is perfect for last minute decorations or little appreciation gifts. You can also use them to decorate your presents.

Christmas is less than a month away and I’m stressed out because I still don’t have some of the presents… I have mixed feelings with Christmas. I want to decorate, but at the same time I want to keep the house as decluttered and minimalist as possible. I’d die to have an obscenely big Christmas tree, but I don’t have the room for it or for keeping it stored the other 11 months… I live in a constant contradiction. It’s so tiring…

Anyway, you are here for the crafts and not for the therapy, so let’s go to it. 😁

I saw these wreaths in this webpage and it was love at the first sight. There’s a link to a video tutorial at the end of their post.

They are very easy to make if you have basic crochet knowledge. All they take is green, red and white yarn, red ribbon for the bow (optional, you can make it with the same yarn as in the tutorial, or even buy already made mini bows) and the plastic ring that holds the cap in plastic bottles. I don’t know if it has a specific name. But you know what I mean.

Stitch count may vary depending on the size of your plastic ring and the yarn you are using, but I’ll leave you mine as a reference.

I worked with a 3.5 mm hook and I started with 32 double crochets in green around the plastic ring.

Then, with the white yarn, I made V stitches all around. V stitch = sc, chain 2, sc IN THE SAME STITCH. Skip next stitch and repeat.

The little berries are made with French knots evenly distributed. 

For the distribution of the berries… I tried to do the math… (spoiler alert, I’m terrible at math) and I figured out that, if I had 32 stitches, and I made my knots every 4 stitches… I’d end up with 8 perfectly distributed berries. I still don’t know why in some cases I have 8, and in others I have 9… and it looks fine too. So, my advice is don’t think too hard. You can eyeball it and it’ll probably look fine anyway. If not, that’s when the ribbon bow comes handy to cover the gap 😉

For the bow, I always wanted to try these quick tutorials where they teach you to make a bow using a fork. Guess what, it works! This is the video I followed.

Look how cute it looks!

You can fix the bows in place with a tad of glue or with a few tiny hand stitches. 

So, if you want to hang them, you just need to attach a piece of ribbon, string or whatever you have around.

If you don’t have a tree either, you can hang them on door knobs. Not bad, right? 😊

May you all have a wonderful season this year.

🎄 ❄️ ❤️

3 thoughts on “Mini Xmas wreaths in crochet

  1. Me parece una idea estupenda. Aunque te conozco bien, todavía me sorprende las cosas tan bonitas que haces.

Leave a comment