Patchwork Cactus DIY Kit

bbnn_cactus_13

Hi there! Today I bring you something quite original and very easy to make (once you understand the instructions…). This is a DIY kit from Natura stores, that comes with all you need to make your own patchwork cactus.

bbnn_cactus_1

bbnn_cactus_2

I received this box as a present from two great friends at work, more than a year ago. But I couldn’t find the will to start the project until a few weeks ago. The truth is that I was discouraged because I didn’t understand the instructions… And I didn’t want to misread them and end up spoiling the present.

This is the so called “instructions sheet”.

bbnn_cactus_3

Very clear, right? 😉 When I first saw this, I stared at it for like 5 minutes… fold it back… and put it in its box.

And then, this summer, I finally found the courage to, at least, try. Luckily for me, my cat offered his help interpreting the steps. I couldn’t have done it without him…

bbnn_cactus_4

So, for those of you who don’t have a cat to help you, I took some pictures of the process. Who knows, maybe there’s more people out there with this kit trying to make sense of the instructions too.

Start by cutting out th pattern and trace it 6 times (3 pairs).

bbnn_cactus_5

Sew along the border (WRONG SIDES FACING) of each pair, to create 3 pockets. Leave the bottom open.

bbnn_cactus_6

If you have zig-zag scissors, use them to trim the edges to give it a spiky look.

bbnn_cactus_7

Align the 3 pockets, secure with pins, and sew a straight line in the middle, along the “very subtle” yellow dotted line I’ve drawn below.

bbnn_cactus_8

 

bbnn_cactus_10

Now you are ready to stuff it!

bbnn_cactus_11

Until you get something like this:

bbnn_cactus_12

Handsew the open bottom of all 3 compartments the best you can, and that’s all!

bbnn_cactus_14

The truth is it was quite easy after all… ¬_¬U

Some times, all it takes to find a new perspective for a problem that seemed unsolvable is time 🙂

2 thoughts on “Patchwork Cactus DIY Kit

  1. Thanks for this post!
    I recieved thist kit yesterday as a present too and I was really confused about, as you said, the so called instructions sheet hahahaha!

Leave a Reply

