Hanging Plants in Water: Easy, Quick and Cheap

BBNN1

Hanging plants has become a thing in the past year. They are in every blog and in every shop. I love when I see all these macrame hangers… but I always think I have no place to hang them from. I’m definitely too scare to drill into the ceiling of my rented apartment… I can picture all sorts of catastrophic scenes, from me falling form the ladder with drilling debris in my eyes and ending blind for the rest of my life, to the whole ceiling collapsing and my scared neighbors looking at me through a big hole in their living room.

So, I ended up with a pretty good solution: hang my plants from a hanger for 3 reasons:

  1. I trust a wall more than a ceiling (More than a ceiliiiiing… XDDD <- please read this part while singing More than a feeling by Boston, otherwhise it doesn’t make sense)☺
  2. Hangers are designed to support weight.
  3. I don’t need to use the ladder.

In addition, instead of soil, I’ve put my plants just in water. This eliminated all my dilemmas whit the watering like “should I unhang my plants every time I want to water them?” “Should I put like a dish beneath the pot in case any water comes out later?” “Will it be draining properly if I do?”  Stop it! The advantage of using just water is that you can use any container without worrying about the draining. I’ve used the Ikea Asker pot, which I thing is mainly designed for hanging kitchen supplies…

BBNN2

There are many plants that can live long periods with just water, like the pothos and the ivy. You can cut a segment of any of these plants, put it in water, and it’ll start growing roots super quick. In a few weeks it’ll be ready to be properly planted in a pot. This is the living proof. ☺

BBNN3

So, I’ve decided to use my hanging plants as nurseries to keep plants there while they grow their roots and become ready to be reinserted into society. 😉

2 thoughts on “Hanging Plants in Water: Easy, Quick and Cheap

Leave a Reply

