Stickers + fabric dye= The Mako Island T-shirt

BBNN_mako_0

When I was a kid, one of the things I liked most about weekends was being able to have my breakfast watching TV, and then keep watching show after show until my parents made me turn it off because we would have something to do, like going somewhere, visiting someone, or just because “the television needs to rest”. <- More or less that’s what I do now on Sundays… but this time it’s my conscience that stops me by saying that I have to do the laundry, or clean the kitchen, or whatever.

So, there was this show called H2O: Just add water, about three girls who turn into mermaids when they touch water.

Mermaids

I watched it although by that time I was kind of grown up… about 18 or so… But I enjoyed it, and I’m not ashamed. Well, maybe a little…

Anyway, I think it’s cool to honour one’s past, and for that I decided to make this tee. If you want to make something similar grab some cloth, some stickers, a spray bottle and “just add water” (and dye, of course).

In the TV series, Mako island was a fictional place where the magic happened. The island was mainly an extinct volcano with a lake in its crater. When the full moon hit the lake, it activated some kind of magic, turning everyone inside the lake into a mermaid. Classic.

Mako_Island

So, back to the crafts, take your garment and find yourself some stickers. Mines where vinyl flowers meant for wall decoration, but any other sticker may work as long as it has some plastic layer, because we are going to spray some water on them. Will freezer paper work? I… think so, because it has a coated layer, but I haven’t tried it, so I don’t know for sure.

1.Decide what your design is going to look like and put your stickers in place.

BBNN_mako_2

2.Wait until your cat decides to put his ass somewhere else. (Note: if you don’t have a cat, you may skip this step.)

BBNN_mako_3

3.Place your t-shirt flat in some safe environment (and by safe I mean a place you won’t mind if it gets stained with fabric dye). I put a tray and some newspaper inside of the t-shirt. Retrospectively, I think maybe an old towel would have been better because the paper ended up all soaked…

BBNN_mako_4

4.I saw there are some dyes that are specific for spray paint and they’ll probably work better, are more concentrated, etc. But if you don’t have them, you can make yours. Mix in a spray bottle warm water, a spoon of salt and some dyeing powder. The salt is supposed to help fix the colour.

BBNN_mako_5

You really don’t need that much. With all I had here, I could have dyed like 10 t-shirts…

5.Make sure your stickers are well stuck and start spraying your paint all around. This is quite scary.

BBNN_mako_6

6.Let dry. If you are not very patient, you can use a hair drier to help Mother Nature in her evaporation process.

Then, peel off the stickers and watch the magic happen! 🙂

BBNN_mako_7

Et voila!

 BBNN_mako_8

I was thinking it would be nice to design a whole collection of tees from different fictional places. You know, like “Greetings from Oz”, “Welcome to Neverland”, “Gotham City”, “Bikini Bottom”, “Visit Arendelle”, “Andalasia is the place to be” or with these silly messages like “My sister went to Narnia and all I got was this lousy t-shirt”. Cool, uh? Maybe some day… 🙂

Leave a Reply

