Wicked Witch of Oz bookmark

I saw a picture of this bookmark many years ago and I saved the link right away because I knew I’ll be making one someday. So, when I discovered the Jumping Clay some months ago, I knew I had found the perfect material to make it, and the birthday of my friend Marta, who is a big fan of The Wizard of Oz, was the best excuse to try it.

BBNN_WOZ_000

BBNN_WOZ_00

I started by modeling the legs in white clay.

BBNN_WOZ_1

Once they dried, I painted the stripes and the shoes with permanent markers.

BBNN_WOZ_2

Then, I made tiny bows with red clay and covered the bows and the shoes with red glitter and added a coat of Mod Podge (you could also use PVA glue) to fix the glitter.

BBNN_WOZ_3

For the bookmark design part, I had to ask for some technical help to Alex, who is much better than me in this kind of things. For the text, we used the font Katy Berry, from dafont.com.

BBNN_WOZ_4

We cut the design out of black poster board with the Silhouette Cameo and glued it on to some white plastic. You could also use a thick cardboard, I guess. The idea is to give it some stiffness.

BBNN_WOZ_5

We fixed the witch legs by leaving a pair of tabs when cutting the plastic so we could insert the legs there. (Sorry I don’t have a picture of that part, but I’m sure you can imagine it more or less).

We also covered the back with a scrap of black vinyl we had around.

BBNN_WOZ_6

Now it’s ready to be used in your favorite books!

BBNN_WOZ_7

BBNN_WOZ_8

BBNN_WOZ_9

READ! AND DON’T MAKE ME GET MY FLYING MONKEYS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

