Space print T-shirt

BBNN_galaxy_0

I’ve always been into space. When we went to California in 2012, we booked a tour at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena. And of course we’ve been to the NASA-INTA premises here in Spain, right outside Madrid. Not as cool as Pasadena, but fun to see anyway. And closer.

BBNN_galaxy_1

There are a lot of tutorials out there about how to space print. This was a trend two or three years ago so you’ll find plenty of examples out there. They are mainly made with bleach and spray paint. I wasn’t sure I’d be able to find spray fabric paint here in my city, so I decided to try with the closest thing I could find: the Playcolor One textile solid poster paint, by Instant.

BBNN_galaxy_4

I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to get a decent detail level with this paint, since it’s meant for kids, but I must say I’m very happy with the results.

I can’t really make a tutorial about it, because the instructions will be something like: take a dark shirt, paint it, iron it.

I can show you some pictures of the process though in case they help to inspire you.

I started always with white and then added the rest of the colors with gentle touches where I wanted soft shades and more strongly where I wanted a brighter effect.

BBNN_galaxy_5

BBNN_galaxy_6

BBNN_galaxy_7

BBNN_galaxy_8

BBNN_galaxy_9

BBNN_galaxy_10

You can create your own galaxies and nebulae or you can look for inspiration on real space objects, as I did with the Ring Nebula here:

BBNN_galaxy_11

Once you are done creating your interstellar world, add more detail by drawing little stars with white liquid fabric paint. I didn’t have any at that time, so I used acrylic paint instead and it worked fine too. I’ve washed the shirt a pair of times already and the stars are all still in place.

BBNN_galaxy_12

You can also copy real constellations and wait to see if someone is smart enough to spot them 😉

Ta da!

BBNN_galaxy_00

***The font I used in the first picture is KG Counting Stars, from dafont.com***

Leave a Reply

