Glitter Sparkling Shoes DIY

I bought a pair of sneakers last year and they are kind of self-destructing, because after a pair of months of use they started to fall apart: the sole cracked, the insole unglued… Maybe it’s because they were really cheap… like 2.99 € (about 4$).

BBNN_glitter_sneakers_0

Anyway, I was about to get rid of them but I decided to try something I had been thinking about for a while: GLIIITEEEERRR…

BBNN_glitter_sneakers_1

Now I like them so much I don’t want to use them too much to prevent them from falling apart completely.

Everything is better with glitter. That’s a universal truth.

From the Gypsy Sisters

From the Gypsy Sisters

Back to the sneakers, the process is so easy it can be reduced to:

Sneakers + glue + glitter + ribbon

BBNN_glitter_sneakers_2

BBNN_glitter_sneakers_3

BBNN_glitter_sneakers_4

BBNN_glitter_sneakers_5

I used a 50/50 mixture of PVA glue and water to fix the glitter, and then a final coat of Mod Podge gloss finish. But you could use the same glue and water mixture. I used the Mod Podge because I had it at home and I never get to use it… but I suspect it’s just glue and water anyway…

ferrari le tigre from Quickmemedotcom

As a final touch, I replaced the ugly white shoe laces with some nice ribbon.

BBNN_glitter_sneakers_7

Nui approves.

If you are looking for different ways to tie your shoes, Ian’s shoelace site is definitely your place. I can’t imagine there’s a more comprehensive website on shoe lacing!

I decided to go with the “straight bar lacing”.
What do you think?

BBNN_glitter_sneakers_6

2 thoughts on “Glitter Sparkling Shoes DIY

  1. Pingback: There’s no place like home: Yet another pair of sparkly shoes | Bubanana

Leave a Reply

