Watermelonize me!

Watermelon print is a trend. Well, maybe it’s not really like a worldwide trend… But I’ve been a little bit obsessed with watermelons lately, so I guess at least it’s a trend to me… 🙂

BBNN_watermelon_00

When I was a child, I had this watermelon shirt that I really liked, so maybe it has to do with some childhood memory retrieving thing…

BBNN_watermelon_0

Oh, yeah, look at my hair… I’m a child of the 80’s…

Anyway, I had so much dye left after my Kacey-Musgrave’s-inspired-glue-and-dye-tote-bag that I felt I had to dye something else.

The process is very simple.

1. Prepare the dye following the instructions of the package.
2. Submerge part of the fabric you want to dye.

BBNN_watermelon_1

3. Rinse and let it dry.

BBNN_watermelon_2

4. Once the pink part is dry, prepare the green dye and repeat steps 2 and 3, leaving a white space between the pink part and the green part.

BBNN_watermelon_3

It looks kind of awful now, because the fabric is all twisted and fraying, but it’ll look better later once it’s ironed and properly cut…

BBNN_watermelon_4

For the seeds, I used a scrap of black fabric, but you can also paint them with fabric paint, or a fabric marker, or maybe you can also attach some black beads.

I made a stencil out of cardstock and traced it into a piece of Steam-a-seam, which is like a double side stick fusible web that works very well for appliqué.

BBNN_watermelon_5

Then you peel one of the sides of the sticky paper and iron it to the black fabric. Cut following the lines, peel the other side and place the seeds forming any pattern you want, or just here and there… Iron it and that’s all.

BBNN_watermelon_6

Although Steam-a-seam instructions say you can machine wash and dry at low heat, I chose to stitch around each seam to ensure they don’t fall apart.

The truth is that the seed part is the one I enjoyed the less, because I hesitated a lot about the right size for the seeds, the best way to place them… so I decided to let the T-shirt seedless.

Other watermelon ideas around the web you could make are:

From Supply

From Supply

By Vans

By Vans

From here

From here

One thought on “Watermelonize me!

Leave a Reply

