Jumping Clay: a review

I learned about the existence of this modelling clay a pair of weeks ago when a friend from work told me about it and I couldn’t believe I hadn’t heard about it before! I’ve tried polymer clays like Fimo and Sculpey and I hate the baking part. I get anxious when it’s in the oven, and I always have this irrational fear that it’s all going to be burned or damaged, or that the oven is going to explode…. A non-toxic, eco-friendly, easy mixing, inexpensive, air draying clay? It almost seemed too good to be true. So I had to try it… and this is my review.

BBNN_jclay_home

What is Jumping Clay?
According to their official web page:

JumpingClay is a jasmine scented, mess free clay that when you roll into a ball, bounces when thrown or dropped. A non-toxic clay composed of water dissolving fillers which allowing it to dry slowly, preventing any cracks from forming. It is impossible to describe the texture of this magical modelling material until you have felt for yourself. We pride ourselves in developing the lightest, softest and safest clay in the world.

(I don’t know if I’ll say “magical”… but it’s cool indeed).

Can it be modelled like any regular polymer clay?
Yes and no. It’s very easy to model but the texture is softer and elastic, more like melted cheese.

BBNN_jclay_texture

The colours mix very quickly and with little effort, but my guess is that you can’t achieve the same level of detail you could have with polymer clay. Shapes tend to be rounder and softer. Or maybe it’s just me.

How much time does it take to dry?

It dries super quickly. After like half an hour without touching it, the clay starts to feel dry and you can’t reshape it anymore.

Can I use cookie cutters and rubber stamps to make shapes?
Yes, you can, but you better let the surface dry a few minutes. If it’s too “fresh”, it’ll stick.

BBNN_jclay_stamp

Can it be cut and punched once dried?

Yes, it can. Very easily too. You can also make thin layers of Jumping Clay and punch holes with shape punchers!

BBNN_jclay_cut
Can it be sanded?
Yes, it can. However, it’s harder to sand than regular polymer clay. Since it’s rubber like, it’ll take more effort and time to sand. But it can be sanded to eliminate imperfections.

Can it be varnished?
Yes. But probably you won’t want to varnish it, because the cool thing about this clay is its foamy-rubbery-softy texture.

Do I need any special glue for foams to glue different parts together?

No, you don’t. I was fooled and bought a special glue just to find out latter than it can be perfectly glued with regular school glue like Elmer’s, or PVA glue (cola blanca).

Can I moist it once it’s dry to model it again?
No, you can’t. You’ll just mess around.

Can it be painted?
Yes, it can. You can paint it with felt pens (markers), colour pencils, crayons and paint that it’s not water based, like acrylics. For me, the best are the felt pens. They dry immediately and don’t run or stain. The only problem is that you have to use it over light colour clay.

BBNN_jclay_feltpens

BBNN_jclay_pencils

BBNN_jclay_paint

BBNN_jclay_crayons

Does it have any other qualities?
Yes. The most important one: it doesn’t weight. It’s very very light, like foamy. Also, it’s elastic once it’s dry. You can squeeze it or bend it and it always turns to its original shape.

BBNN_jclay_elastic

It also bounces. Although I’m not very sure what the advantages of that are, apart from the fact that if it falls and hits the ground it will bounce back and it won’t break.

My verdict:
I’ve liked it and I’ll plan on keeping experimenting with it. The truth is that I was expecting something that allowed me a little more level of detail, but it’s mainly a material thought for kids, so when you accept that and make peace with its limitations, it’s a cool material to work with. I think that what I liked most is the possibility to make thin layers and then punch shapes out of it. I’m thinking maybe in lots of foamy hearts to embellish a present, name tags, Christmas decorations, cake toppers, etc. The best features of this clay are its lightness, its elasticity once dried and the fact that it’s not toxic. So, I surely can find lots of uses for it. I’ll keep you posted!

For now, I’ve made these two little somethings inspired by Disney’s Frozen.

BBNN_jclay_letitgo

BBNN_jclay_olaf

3 thoughts on “Jumping Clay: a review

  1. Pingback: I’ve been making earrings | Bubanana

  2. Pingback: Tiny Umbrellas | Bubanana

Leave a Reply

