Spring wreath deco and 2 ways of making easy fabric flowers

Spring is officially here so now I can officially change my winter door wreath decoration into a spring theme! The thing is that I only have one wreath that I bought two years ago in L.A. The original plan was to change its decoration every season, but the reality is that I decorated it for Christmas on 2012 and never changed it to spring… Yeah, that’s right, I left my Christmas decorations during spring, summer and fall until it was winter again… It was mainly laziness, but I like to think it had something to do with rebellion too. Like, you know, doing whatever you want, whenever you want, not when society tells you to, blah blah blah. 🙂 But it was mainly laziness, I’m not going to lie.

BBNN_spring_wreath_1

The thing is that the other day I suddenly felt the urge to switch to the spring deco for good. They say better late than never, right? 😉 So, that was the result:

BBNN_spring_wreath_00

 

There are a lot of ways to make fabric flowers and you can find boards on Pinterest fully dedicated to that:

BBNN_spring_wreath_pinterest

I didnt want to invest much time on my wreath so I chose two types of flowers that are easy and quick. The white flowers that look a little bit like carnations are as simple and they could be. You’ll only need a piece of ribbon, thread, needle, and zig-zag scissors.

BBNN_spring_wreath_carnation1

BBNN_spring_wreath_carnation2

Pull tight and secure with a knot

Pull tight and secure with a knot

BBNN_spring_wreath_4

Pink flowers on the left have a little bit more work, but they are pretty easy too:

Cut out a circle

Cut out a circle

Baste around and pull

Baste around and pull

Secure with a knot. Repeat for each petal and sew them together. Embellish the center with a button or similar

Secure with a knot. Repeat for each petal and sew them together. Embellish the center with a button or similar

BBNN_spring_wreath_3

 

BBNN_spring_wreath_ballet1

I hope my wreath helps to bring some spring weather around, because so far it’s not being very spring like around here…

SPRING I SUMMON THEE!!!

SPRING I SUMMON THEE!!!

Leave a Reply

