Crochet beanie

If you’ve read my previous post on the tubular infinity scarf you’ll already know that I had a hard time deciding what to do with the bunch of yarns I received for Christmas. Well, here it is another creation that came out of the 5 skeins: a very simple crochet beanie.

BBNNbeanie00

BBNNbeanie01

I found this video in Youtube and I loved the pattern right away. It’s incredibly easy but the chain gives the hat some shape that makes it look more complex than what already is. As always, I’ve made my hat inspired on the video, but it came out a little bit different because there is some universal force that makes me unable to follow any pattern. I try, I really do, but there is always a point where I start thinking “what if…” and that’s the beginning of the end 🙂 Now that I watch the video again I see my hat looks pretty different…

The video is in Spanish, but you can find international instructions with symbols in the written pattern HERE.

In addition, here’s a little glossary just in case:

Punto bajo: single crochet (UK double crochet)

Punto alto: double crochet (UK triple)

Aumento p. alto: increase with two double crochet (UK triple) in the same stitch

Disminución p. alto: decrease by crocheting two doubles (UK triple) together

Important: you should never work into the chain stitch that separates each section.

Although you follow the pattern, you don’t necessarily need to make the exact amount of rows. The number of rows will depend of the size of the head (children, adult, conehead, etc.) and of course the thickness of the yarn and the size of the hook. The best thing you can do is keep trying it on so you can decide when to start decreasing.

As you can see, I didn’t make the last rows of single crochet (UK double) that the tutorial says. It’s an option. But the shape is different.

BBNNbeanie02

 
And when you are not wearing your beanie, you can use it to warm up your cat.

BBNNbeanie03

Aaaand the good news is it only took me 1 skein of yarn to make the beanie, so I still have 1 skein left! But I haven’t decided what to make out of the last one!

Happy crocheting!

2 thoughts on “Crochet beanie

  1. Pingback: Scratch That! | h.morningstar

  2. Pingback: Crochet mittens or fingerless gloves | Bubanana

Leave a Reply

