Fruit box upgrade

I don’t know how it’s like in other parts of the world, but here in Spain you can buy some fruits like strawberries and cherries in wooden boxes. This summer I went bananas and bought kilos and kilos of strawberries and then I had to make all sort of things to prevent them from spoiling. I made jam, syrup, coulis, popsicles, strawberry lemonade… and I saved one of the boxes they came in. With some fabric and rick-rack ribbon I made a little…something… to embellish it a little.
BBNNfrutero1

The first thing you want to do is make sure the box has no splinters or sharp edges. You can smooth the rough edges off with some sand paper.

This is how I made the interior case:

1. Start measuring the inside if the box you want to cover. Make paper templates of the pieces and transfer them into the fabric you chose for the upper side, leaving some sewing allowance.

BBNNfrutero2

2. Start sewing all the parts to the bottom, and then sew the sides.

BBNNfrutero3

3. Repeat with the fabric you want for the back. I used some plain red.
4. Press the edge about 0,5 cm to the wrong side of both fabrics.

BBNNfrutero4

5. Then put the front fabric piece inside the back fabric piece (wrong sides facing) and pin aligning the edges, with the rick-rack ribbon in the middle.

BBNNfrutero5

6. Sew along as close to the edge as you can. I hand stitched it before to make sure it stayed in place.

And that’s all! You can use it to bring the fruit to the table; you can also put some bread, pastries, etc. It can be easily washed.

BBNNfrutero7

These are other things I made with this cherry fabric some years ago 🙂 I hope you like them too.

BBNNIsa_cocina

Leave a Reply

